My message for the problem succinctly states:
A promising solution to the global malarial burden in sub-Sahara Africa is greater funding in order to launch the production of the RTS,S malaria vaccine in a timely manner, and provide this antidote to children under five in order to prevent the disease before it is contracted.

However, as I view this projected communication, I realize I need to wrap this information in a more personalized presentation.

Of the many options I presented in my previous blog, “Materials, media, and forms,” I have decided that the linear narrative (the problem –> the need –> the solution –> the results –> the initiative to act) can be told effectively through a horizontally organized interactive website.

In my brainstorming and sketches, I noted the many benefits that this medium provides. First of all, with the inescapable technicalities of HTML/CSS/Javascript, I will be forced to increase my knowledge of this subject in particular throughout the course of the project via the means of sought tutorials and other working web examples. I will also have a prized interactive show-piece for my portfolio (especially considering that I hope to pursue a career in this direction).

With the linear narrative and subject in mind, this medium allows the audience to scroll through the information at their own pace and revisit any points of interest with ease. It creates an interactive book-like atmosphere, but the additional benefits of the web broadens this piece’s horizon beyond the mere realm of print.

Throughout my brainstorming below, I did not exclude the “coffee cozy campaign” idea, but rather have included that as an additional goal in perhaps how I frame the initiative to act. (This will all depend on the time permitted to complete these deliverables.)

The sketches are too detailed to reiterate, but selecting an image will allow you to view it in greater detail and better understand my attentions.

While my sketches capture the raw frame of the content and data, the mood board below gives a better understanding of how I imagine this visualization coming together as a piece.

PHOTOGRAPHY

Macro shots that capture emotion and tension will be used to draw the viewer into the piece in order to look at it in a more detailed light. Desaturated tones will draw the focus to the content and less to the coloring of the image, as well as offer a sobering, serious mood to the piece as a whole. Lifestyle shots will be paired with scientific images, providing a comparison and contrast that mirrors the data, while also giving an abstract relief to the faces presented.

GRAPHICAL ELEMENTS/TREATMENT

Monochromatic coloring with an emphasis on whites, greys, and muted tones will be used to set the visual stage. Drop shadows will be added to show depth, and indentations will provide a sense of three-dimensional space with a flat two-dimensional world. One color, red, will be used as an accent to draw attention. The message, while sobering at first, will reveal an uplifting finish, and the coloring likewise must mirror this story (starting as a deep red and brightening with time, perhaps adding tints of magenta to give life and hope to the shade).

PHOTOGRAPHY AND GRAPHICAL ELEMENTS TOGETHER

The layering of graphical elements on top of images will give the viewer perspective and add depth to the narrative being told. It will serve as an element of interest, and will help the data and the content to communicate with each other, especially through the use of transparency and color. Interactive elements (such as roll-overs and audience prompts) will also combine these two worlds in a powerful way. Imagery will serve as a way to connect the narrative as a whole, from page to page on the site. (In my sketches, you can see that the frames live within a moving panoramic photographic backdrop.)

The photography, unlike the graphics, will not be trapped within its frame, but will be able to break free from its boundaries, depicting how the data and information is merely a commentary to the living, breathing subject matter.

